43

Guidelines for UPCAT Application Released

by Admin |

The University of the Philippines has released the application guidelines for the UPCAT. Here are the highlights:

Ways to Get into UP

Did you know that there are several ways of getting into UP aside from the UPCAT?

Through the UPCAT

This is the most popular way of getting into UP. Students who aspire to enter the University of the Philippines have to take the UPCAT. For incoming freshmen of SY 2016-2017, the UPCAT will be administered nationwide on August 30, 2015.

Through International Qualification

Filipino and Foreign graduates of high schools abroad may qualify for freshman admission without having to take the UPCAT, provided they meet other requirements. Details on the specific requirements may be obtained from the Office of the University Registrar of the respective UP campuses.

Through the “Iskolar ng Bayan” Program

If you are one of the graduates from the Top Ten of the graduating classes of public high schools, you may apply for freshman admission for SY 2016-2017 without having to take the UPCAT. This is provided by a transitory provision of RA 10648, the Iskolar ng Bayan Law.

If you qualify for admission in UP under the Iskolar ng Bayan program, you are entitled to free tuition and other school fees for the first year of college.

Who may take the UPCAT?

We have always been asked this question by many parents and students. More so, there has been a lot of confusion because of the transition to the K-12 curriculum.

UP has finally spoken. Here are the specific conditions for eligibility based on the guidelines released by UP.

You must be a Senior student expecting to graduate at the end of the school year from a DepEd-accredited high school or a secondary school abroad; OR

Note: Graduation means that the student can go to college already. Moving from Grade 10 to Senior High (Grade 11) is not considered graduation.

Aside from these, you must also:

  • Have Final grades for three (3) high school years preceding the year of graduation in a high school with DepEd recognition/permit to operate the curriculum during the transition period from the old Basic Education Curriculum to the new Enhanced Basic Education (K-12) Curriculum; AND
  • Have not taken any college subject/s prior to the semester/academic year for which the UPCAT is to be taken.
IMPORTANT REMINDERS:
  • There is no minimum high school average grade requirement for taking the UPCAT.
  • The UPCAT can be taken only once.
  • Your school cannot deny you to take the UPCAT if you are eligible. IT IS YOUR RIGHT AS A FILIPINO CITIZEN.

Deadline of Filing of Application

  • 24 July 2015 – Metro Manila PRIVATE schools
  • 27 July 2015 – Metro Manila PUBLIC schools
  • 29 July 2015 – Non-Metro Manila schools

Applications filed after the deadlines may be subject to late fees.

Online UPCAT Application

UP has rolled out an online application process, aside from the manual application that is currently being used. However, as of current writing, it is still not accessible.

UPDATE: The UPCAT Online Application is already available.

Online UPCAT Review

Aside from the online UPCAT application, UP is including an online UPCAT review. Watch out for that.

In the meantime, you may want to check out the Review Masters Online UPCAT Review. Review Masters has been giving a free online UPCAT review for several years already and we have helped thousands of students through the online review. Here’s the link: Review Masters Online Review Portal

We will be updating this page from time to time so make sure that you bookmark this page for future reference.

For more information, visit the UPCAT General Information.

Comments 43

  1. My child can take upcat for july? She’s in grade 10 now. PLs let me know if she is qualified.

    THANK YOU

    1. Post
      Author

      Good day po! Based on UP’s eligibility criteria, your daughter can’t take the UPCAT yet. She has to be a graduating student this school year. Only those who will go to college after the school year are allowed to take the UPCAT.

    2. Good day. May I ask if the UPCAT online application that has already been submitted be edited due to some mistakes. Thanks

  2. May i know the site for the application form for freshman admission for ay 2016-2017 so we can download it?
    July 22,2015 is the deadline of submission for private school,right?

  3. Post
    Author

    Hi jeng! As of now, UP has not yet released the forms . We will update this page once the application forms are available.

  4. Pwede po ba kmi kumuha na lng application dyan s office nyo? Grade 11 po ang anak ko

  5. Good day po! Grade 10 po ako this school year. Medyo naguguluhan po ako kasi sabi ‘graduating students’ lang po pwede. So does it mean po ba na hindi po pwede mag UPCAT mga sakop ng k-12?
    kasi nagpeprepare na po sana ako. Anyway thanks and more power ^_^

  6. Hi good evening. May I ask po kung kelan po maggiging available po and Online Application for UPCAT this year? Nalalapit na po ang pasahan ng mga requirements po. Mahirap na po mag-cram at magmadali ng mga ipapasang dokumento. May pitong araw na lng po na natitira para sa amin upang maayos ang aming mga requirements. Sana po maayos na po ang Online Application link. Salamat po.

  7. Galing po kami sa UP Los Banos para kumuha ng forms 1 and 2 pero sabi po ng staff ay hindi daw available sa office niyo at downloadable din daw po sa website niyo,pero wala pa rin po. Saan po ba talaga ako pwede makapag register.

    Regards,
    Ian Sarmiento

  8. ask ko lang po , kung pwede kumuha ng upcat ang anak ko ng aug 30,2015, cla po ang first batch ng k to 12, kung ala po k to 12 graduating cya ng fourth year sa march 2016, , thanks po

  9. When can the online registration be available.? Can you pls change the deadline of submission of application form as its only 1 week left before July 22 and we cannot download the forms, despite your claiming that it will be available. Will appreciate if you can announce the changes publicly so that students and parents will not be too stressed on this. Thank you . Appreciate your immediate attention and reply.

  10. I called UP Diliman Office of Admissions. They said na ok lang daw malate ang pagsubmit ng mga taga-Private Schools dahil sa delay ng forms nila online. They will still accept ng July 23. Please! UP Diliman fix your online server para po maging AVAILABLE na talaga ang UPCAT forms niyo po. Kindly update your website as well regarding sa situation niyo about sa delay ng sistema niyo. Maaawa naman din po kayo sa mga parents na magaayos ng mga requirements ng mga anak nila.

    Thank you.

  11. Just wondering if there are graduating students for this year considering that this is the start of the TRANSITION to K-to-12.
    All graduates last year are FOURTH year High school students (the equivalent of Grade 10), which are the last batch of 4rth year high school to enter College. Therefore, all FOURTH year students today are in Grade 10 and will have to go through Grades 11 and 12 before entering College. NOW, who do you expect to take the UPCAT? Isn’t the K-to-12 program now in effect in all Philippine Schools?

    1. Post
      Author
  12. Mr. Agbada, Sir I wanted to ask the same question. Did you get any answer? I sent an email to UP, I got a reply to call and provided a set of phone numbers. But when I called (mobile to landline), it took some time before I got to talk to somebody, who told me it was not the correct department and I was given another set of local numbers to call. So frustrating.

  13. Hi admin, Pwede ba ako magtake ng UPCAT kahit nagcollege na ako ? Nagdrop nga lang due to personal reasons ? 1 month lang tinagal ko then befor preliminary exam nagdrop na ako. Pwede kaya ako magexam ?

    Thanks

    1. Post
      Author

      Hi Carlo! The UPCAT is for those students who have not yet taken any subjects or units in college. You may still enter UP through another process though. Just inquire at the registrar’s office for more details.

  14. Same question here as above.
    Di pala covered ng K-12 lahat ng highschools. I thought K-12 is required in all.

    1. Post
      Author

      Hi sir! Yes po. Unfortunately, that’s how the government rolled out the new curriculum. This is part of the birth pains of implementing K to 12.

  15. hi admin! i am a fourth year high school student and is graduating this SY 2015-2016. Am i qualified for the UPCAT?

  16. Ang swerte nung mga March 2015 graduating students of a 5 year night class high school such as St. Scholastica, La Salle Greenhills, etc…(the working students) under basic education curriculum, last batch ng basic education curriculum under Batch 2015 & previous years na di muna nagcollege this year, transferees, at international students na magteTake ng UPCAT 2016 dahil maraming slots pang matitira kahit na quota course ang kunin nila dahil sa konti lang ang population nila. Epekto ng K-12: may advantage at disadvantages.

  17. Mag gra-grade 11 na po ako this year at nais ko sanang sa UP mag college. Kailan po ang schedule ng exam?

  18. Let’s say after my senior high i took up UPCAT then i pass so there’s a maintaining grade or none? Then during my application in grade 12 for upcat can my school right now help me to my application in UPCAT

  19. Hi! What grades from the 3 preceding years will be included in the requirements of K-12 students? Grades 10-12 or 8-10? Thank you !

  20. Hello po. If a student belongs to the top 10 honors from public school, is he/she automatically a scholar?

  21. Hi there..when po ba application/exam for grade 11? Ive been searching the web but s.y. 2016 pa po yun mga info..my son is in grade 10 now po . hope to hear feedback from you. Thanks..

    1. Page, thanks for commenting, but technically bidding doesn’t start until 12:01pm tonight, so to be fair, can you come back and re-bid then? Thanks! I’m really glad people are excited about this.(PS: your avatar icon is delightfully unnerving.)

  22. grade 11 student po ako, incoming grade 12 po kame this s.y. 2017-2018, kelan po kame dapat magtake?

  23. Same question above.

    Im a Grade 11 student and turning Grade 12 this year, just want to ask if we are still able to take the UPCAT? When?

  24. I have been exploring for a little for any high-quality articles or weblog posts on this sort of area . Exploring in Yahoo I eventually stumbled upon this website. Reading this info So i am glad to convey that I have an incredibly just right uncanny feeling I discovered exactly what I needed. I so much indubitably will make sure to don?t omit this site and give it a glance on a continuing basis.

  25. Hi admin. Pwede pa po ba ako magtake ng UPCAT for AY 2018-2019.
    Undergrad po ako ng BS Psychology. Please reply on my email. Thanks

  26. Hi po admin. Grade 12 po ako ngayon, at gusto ko po magtake ng UPCAT for SY 2018-2019. Pwede po ba ako??

  27. Am I still legible to take the UPCAT even if I entered the completion of my high school incorrectly? I entered February 2018 instead of April 2018. Thanks!

  28. Good evening! May I ask if it’s possible for a private school graduate of SHS to be one of Iskolar ng Bayan?

    PS. Kaya po nasa private kasi may scholarship po. Thank you and God bless

  29. Hello po paano po kaya mababago yung form 1 sa online application? Nagkamali po kase ako .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *